Mission mayhem …

Mission status to be advised Friday, don’t get your hopes up ..
I have a MAN FLU – and only us men know how bad that can be. sniffle.
I’ll report gaming status on Friday – see how this virus has progressed, I wouldn’t want to pass it on.
I was looking forward to seeing Raw’s new car too 😉

I imagine Parts will be busy fiddling with knobs, pulling his big lens and shooting all over the place whilst gently caressing and spit polishsing his new Canon.
Actually, I don’t want to imagine that!

Anyway, what else has happened in the world?

GAMING ON LINUX!

After saying Windows 8 is “a catastrophe for everyone in the PC space” at a videogame conference in Seattle, Valve head—and one-time Microsoft employee—Gabe Newell has  announced Valve is working to bring Left 4 Dead 2 and other Steam titles to Linux.  Newell criticised Windows 8 while talking about the future of the gaming industry – VentureBeat.

Newell’s low opinion of Microsoft’s next major operating system has been known for some time. He argued that one of the last remaining things keeping people away from Linux was the lack of games (and using Photoshop/Indesign for me, though they’re now available in the “cloud”).

The Windows Stores closed and controlled nature also concerns him. Features such as Xbox LIVE integration could make the Windows Store and Windows 8 a more appealing platform for gamers and developers alike, rather than Steam.

He attributed Valve’s success to the PC’s open nature, saying that the company “wouldn’t exist” without either the PC or “the openness of the platform.” There is a “strong temptation” to close the platform (much like Apple), because the platform’s developers “look at what they can accomplish when they limit the competitors’ access to the platform, and they say ‘That’s really exciting.”

For many users though who prefer their operating systems more open and customizable, Linux is beginning to look like a much more attractive and exciting alternative.

6 responses to “Mission mayhem …

  1. England just won their first gold medal of the games and their first womens rowing medal ever. Good on ’em.

    I reckon there’s as much chance of Raw bringing his ficticious wrx up as there is of me coming! Actually, I’d put your money on me 😛

    Should be there if it’s on . . . hope Raws wrx can say the same 🙂

    Like

  2. Just thinking Parts, one of these could be the ideal car for Raw! Perhaps if he had something like this he might be game to bring it up 😛 Just listen to that FREAKING NOISE!!!! …

    Like

  3. F*cking americans. No wonder the price of oil is so high. How much fuel do they waste doing that? On the green side, I noticed at least two trees were killed in the first two minutes . . . disgusting.

    Like

  4. Well Parts, I think you know my Political leaning, BUT dang if I aint got just a little bit ‘O redneck in me that say’s “Feck the planet, strap me in and bring it on!!!” 😛
    Is that wrong? An arvo’s fun in the “green machine” probably uses less fuel than a flight to Sydney. I know which one I’d rather sit in for 2 hours – as long as Raw isn’t driving 😉

    Like

  5. I will only be there if u are no longer sick tone, Im going on a 4 week holiday in a week and I have been avoiding sick people at all costs lol.

    Like

  6. AND been avoiding bringing up anything other than your mum’s car to gaming!
    Enjoy your holiday RAW. Shoot ’ems are going to be really boring for the next two gaming nights. or NOT. Pencil me in Tone, Raws away, the retards will play 😛
    Where’s the pic of the WRX you promised?

    Also, I went to Tones this afternoon to verify his illness and he wasn’t even there. Swanning around Kingston apparently. I had a nap in his driveway for about 30 mins and his dog wouldn’t even come out to say hello. NICE.

    Still, 2 Raw-free gaming nights coming up, Shoot-em Marathon anyone?

    Like

Leave a Reply

